Home » 1988 – Dimension Hatross

1988 – Dimension Hatross

Released in 1988 by Noise Records
All songs written and arranged by Voivod, except: * Neil Hefde
Produced by Voivod and Harris Johns
Recorded and mixed at Musiclab, Berlin, Germany 1988
Back cover photo by Fred Baumgart
Cover Concept and Artwork by Away

Prolog / Experiment 6:10
Tribal Convictions 4:52
Chaosmongers 4:39
Technocratic Manipulators 4:35
Epilog / Macrosolutions to Megaproblems 5:33
Brain Scan 5:08
Psychic Vacuum 3:49
Cosmic Drama 4:54
Batman* 1:45

All-Music Guide review
3 pts.

Released nearly two years after the transitional Killing Technology, Dimension Hatross is the first true album where Voivod’s experimental-metal is explored from beginning to end. Shedding the clichéd lyrics that the band relied on for their first two releases, they’re thankfully replaced by much more thought-provoking lyrics. The group has also grown as musicians — guitarist Denis D’Amour is one of metal’s finest, the rhythm section of Michel Langevin on drums and Jean-Yves Theriault on bass is tighter than ever, and vocalist Denis Belanger sings more conventionally (no more shrieking). The band’s sudden songwriting maturity becomes evident from the opening track “Experiment,” when futuristic imagery collides head on with heavy sounds. “Macrosolutions to Megaproblems” contains impressive, busy interplay between the band, while “Tribal Convictions” is a simpler, Sabbath-like number, which opens with some primitive drumming courtesy of Langevin (who also designed the album’s cover). Dimension Hatross is Voivod’s first fully realized album, and set the stage for their best album ever, 1989’s major-label debut Nothingface.
— Greg Prato, All-Music Guide

The DImension Hatross Re-Issue received a 10/10 rating from Blabbermouth.com